The Royal Dunedin Male Choir

About us: See also  History, Choral Singers


The Royal Dunedin Male Choir is administered by the Royal Dunedin Male Choir Incorporated, limited to and exclusively for charitable purposes, in New Zealand. The activities of the Choir are administered by a Committee, elected at the Annual General Meeting.

Principal Officers

Patron:The Mayor of Dunedin, Mr Dave Cull
President:Peter Keddell
Immediate Past President:H Robert Wilson
Vice Presidents:Neil Hall, Nick Nicolson, Robert Storm, Don Barkman and Peter Stapleton
Trustees:Brian Foley, Nick Nicolson, H Robert Wilson

Musical Director (Conductor)

Richard Madden QSM
Peter Keddell
Linda Folland
Frances Brodie

Richard Madden, Mus.B (Hons), LRSM, QSM, was appointed the Choir's Conductor in 2001.

Born in Dunedin, Richard joined the Choir as a First Tenor in 1998, was appointed Deputy Conducter in 1999 and has been Conductor since 2001. He is a very talented musician and has composed a wide range of music.

Richard was educated at Otago Boys’ High School (1966-71) and the University of Otago (1971-76). He studied composition with Don Byars and Edwin Carr and singing with Honor McKellar, graduating with BMus (Hons).

He was awarded the Queens Service Medal in the 2017 Queen's Birthday Honours list.

Deputy Conductor

Peter Keddell


Linda Folland

Deputy Accompanist

Frances Brodie


John DennisonChairman & Assistant Librarian
Bob ChalmersDeputy Chairman
Ian GraySecretary
Neil HodgkinTreasurer
Richard MaddenMusical Director
Neil HallRegistrar
Murray AysonStage Manager
Robert StormLibrarian
Steve Devlin
Rod Maclennan
Ray Sheppard
Jonathan Storm
Alby Warner
Graeme Welsh

Website Editor

Alan Jackson

Honorary Solicitor

Nick Nicolson

Honorary Members

Judy Faris
Allan Garth
Dulcie Jones
Sir Bryn Terfel
Netta Wylie
Russell Clark